Ausschreibung Internationaler Studenten-Balintpreis 2021

The Foundation Psychosomatic and Social Medicine

invites medical students to consider applying for

The International Balint Award 2021 – „Ascona Prize“

They should describe a student-patient relationship, an experience, or experiences, from the student’s medical studies and include critical reflection on personal meetings with patients.

Prize monies of € 5,000 are available for the authors of the best three essays. Papers must be in English.

The criteria by which the papers will be judged are as follows:

1. Exposition:
The paper should include a presentation of a truly personal experience of a student-patient relationship. (Manuscripts of former medical theses or diplomas cannot be acceptePd.)

2. Reflection:
A description of how the student experienced this relationship, either individually or as part of the medical team.

3. Action:
The student's own perception of the demands to which s/he felt exposed and an illustration of how s/he responded.

4. Progression:
A discussion of both ways in which the student's own approach might change in the future, and also possible ways in which future medical training might enhance the state of awareness for individual students.

Submissions of 5.000-12.000 words should be sent by email, as a Word attachment to

They must be received before 31st December 2020. The awards will be presented at the

22 th International Balint Congress in Brussels / Belgium, September 2021.

The prize winners will be expected to give a short presentation of their essay (not more than 15 minutes) at the Congress and the full text of the papers will be published in the Proceedings of the Congress and other Balint journals.

The Congress fee will be waived for prize-winners and they will be provided with free accommodation. In addition, each prizewinner may claim reasonable travel expenses (the cheapest available air fare) on the production of appropriate receipts.

Read more:,

Ascona Preis - Preisträger

Die Preisträger aus aller Welt sind jeweils eingeladen, Ihre Arbeiten auf den Internationalen Balintkongressen vorzustellen.

Preisträger 2015 sind:

1. Herr Sean Tan, Northern Ireland
2. Frau Khloe Frank, USA
3. Herr William Brierley, UK

Die Preisverleihung fand vom 05.09-08.09.2015 in Metz, Frankreich statt.

Preisträger 2013 sind:

1. Frau Claudia Harrison, New Zealand 
2. Frau Mariana Lara De Arruda, Brazil 
3. Herr Jack Marjot, UK 

Die Preisverleihung fand am 10.09.1013 beim 18. Internationalen Balint Kongress in Heidelberg/Deutschland statt.

Preisträger 2011 sind:

1. Frau Karen Bilmers 
2. Herr Peter Cooch 
3. Herr Umair Tahir Khan 

Die Preisverleihung fand am 10.09.2011 in Philadelphia beim 19. Int. Balint Congress statt.

Preisträger 2009 sind:

1. Frau Dana Adriana Pamfile
2. Herr Omer Rosenblum
3. Herr Roland Koch

Die Preisverleihung fand am 8.9.2009 in Brasov beim 17. Int. Balint Congress statt.

gez. Uni-Prof. emer. Dr. med. Ernst R. Petzold, Kusterdingen

Preisträger 2007 sind:

1. Frau Swapna Reddy, London/ UK
2. Frau Shi Zhuan Tan, Edinborough/ UK
3. Herr Lala Adrian, Bukarest /Rumänien
4. Herr Markus Rinschen, Münster i.W. Germany

Die Preisverleihung fand am 4.9.2007 in Lissabon beim 15. Int. Balint Congress in Anwesenheit des Präsidenten der Stiftung Herrn Dr. Dr. A. Ammann, Bern statt. 

gez. Uni-Prof. emer. Dr. med. Ernst R. Petzold, Kusterdingen